National Sports Awards – 2016

Khel Ratna Awards
August 24, 2016

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

(i)Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2016


S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1 Ms. P.V. Sindhu Badminton
2. Ms. Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
3. Shri Jitu Rai Shooting
4. Ms. Sakshi Malik Wrestling


(ii) Dronacharya Awards 2016


S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1 Shri Nagapuri Ramesh Athletics
2. Shri Sagar Mal Dhayal Boxing
3. Shri Raj Kumar Sharma Cricket
4. Shri Bishweshwar Nandi Gymnastics
5. Shri S. Pradeep Kumar Swimming (Lifetime)
6. Shri Mahabir Singh Wrestling (Lifetime)


(iii) Arjuna Awards 2016


S. No. Name of the awardee Discipline
1 Shri Rajat Chauhan Archery
2. Ms. Lalita Babar Athletics
3. Shri Sourav Kothari Billiards & Snooker
4. Shri Shiva Thapa Boxing
5. Shri Ajinkya Rahane Cricket
6. Shri Subrata Paul Football
7. Ms. Rani Hockey
8. Shri Raghunath V.R. Hockey
9. Shri Gurpreet Singh Shooting
10. Ms. Apurvi Chandela Shooting
11. Shri Soumyajit Ghosh Table Tennis
12. Ms. Vinesh Wrestling
13. Shri Amit Kumar Wrestling
14. Shri Sandeep Singh Mann Para-Athletics
15. Shri Virender Singh Wrestling (Deaf)


(iv) Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2016


S.No. Category Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel ProtsahanPuruskar, 2016
1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent 1.Hockey Citizen Group
2.Dadar Parsee Zorostrian cricket club
3.Usha School of Athletics
2. Encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility India Infrastructure Finance Corporate Limited
3. Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measures Reserve Bank of India
4. Sports for Development Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society


(v) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015-16


Punjabi University, Patiala


The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016.


Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.


Source-Press Information Bureau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *